NAE Grand Challenges Scholars Program

Participating Schools

Schools with Approved GCS Programs

The National Academy of Engineering Grand Challenge Scholars Program is a combined curricular and extra-curricular program with five components that are designed to prepare students to be the generation that solves the grand challenges facing society in this century.

In 2008, the NAE identified 14 Grand Challenges for Engineering in the 21st Century. The Grand Challenges are a call to action and serve as a focal point for society's attention to opportunities and challenges affecting our quality of life. Click on the school name below to see its operational document.

US Schools

Arizona State University
Auburn University
Boston University
Bucknell University
Catholic University of America
Campbell University
Clemson University
Colorado School of Mines
Dartmouth College
Drexel University
Duke University
FAMU-FSU College of Engineering​
Florida Gulf Coast University
George Fox University
George Mason University
Georgia Institute of Technology
James Madison University
Lafayette College
Louisiana Tech University
Lawrence Technological University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Miami University
Michigan Technological University
Montgomery College
New Jersey Institute of Technology
North Carolina A&T State University
North Carolina State University
North Dakota State University
Ohio State University
Oklahoma State University
Olin College of Engineering
Oregon State University
Quinnipiac University
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rollins College
Rose Hulman Institute of Technology
Saint Louis University
Santa Clara University
Southern Methodist University
State University of New York Syracuse
Texas A&M University
Texas Tech University
Tulane University
University of Bridgeport
University of California, Berkeley
University of California, San Diego
University of Dayton
University of Delaware
University of Denver
University of Houston
University of Idaho
University of Iowa
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
University of Maryland, College Park
University of Michigan - Dearborn
University of Nebraska Lincoln
University of North Dakota
University of Notre Dame
University of Portland
University of Rochester
University of South Florida
University of Southern California
University of Tennessee
University of Texas at Austin
University of Texas at San Antonio
University of Toledo
University of Utah
University of Virginia
University of Wisconsin - Madison
Utah State University
Villanova University
West Virginia University
Western New England University
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Wright State University

International Schools

Australian National University, Australia
Beihang University, China
Chung Yuan Christian University
City University of Hong Kong
Hyderabad Institute of Technology and Management, India
Instituto Mauá de Tecnologia, São Paulo, Brazil
McMaster University, Canada
National University of Singapore, Singapore
NCTU (National Chiao Tung University) Taiwan, Taiwan
New York University - Abu Dhabi
Nirma University, India
Peking University, China
Plaksha University, India
Sree Vidyanikethan Engineering College, India
Taylor's University, Malaysia
Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais-UFMG, Brazil
Università Campus Bio-Medico di Roma
University of New South Wales, Australia
University of Perugia, Italy
University POLITEHNICA of Bucharest
University of Rome - Sapienza